Power-Pop fans rejoice — The Posies return with first album in five years!

The Posies

According to their PR folks at Rykodisc, veteran power-pop band the Posies are returning this fall with their seventh studio album, Blood/Candy, due out September 28th. It’s the band’s first official release since 2005’s Every Kind of Light, so there’s a great deal of buzz building out there for the new material. For those of you who are so inclined, you can check out four of their songs from previous albums on their MySpace page. And, if you’ve got a taste for something new, check out the lead single from the album, “Licenses To Hide,” as a full legal download!

The Posies – “Licenses To Hide” (MP3 Download)

Beyond that, for those of you within range of one of these US shows, seems like a can’t miss chance to catch a great act live:

Blood/Candy NYC Album Release Show
Sept. 23 Thu @ Rock Shop, Brooklyn, NY

2010 U.S. Tour Dates w/ Brendan Benson
Nov. 5 Fri. @ Turner Hall Ballroom, Milwaukee, WI
Nov. 6 Sat. @ Bottom Lounge, Chicago, IL
Nov. 7, Sun @ Southgate House, Newport, KY
Nov. 9 Tues. @ The Majestic Theatre, Detroit, MI
Nov. 10 Wed.@ Outland Live, Columbus, OH
Nov. 11 Thu. @ Mr. Small’s Theatre, Millvale, PA
Nov. 12 Fri. @ Water Street Music Hall, Rochester, NY
Nov. 13 Sat. @ The Highline Ballroom, New York, NY
Nov. 14 Sun. @ The Trocadero Theater, Philadelphia, PA
Nov. 16 Tues. @ Royale, Boston, MA
Nov. 17 Wed. @ 9:30 Club, Washington, DC
Nov. 18 Thu. @ Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro, NC
Nov. 19 Fri. @ Exit/In, Nashville, TN
Nov. 20 Sat @ The Loft, Atlanta, GA
Nov. 21 Sun. @ Minglewood Hall, Memphis, TN
Nov. 24 Wed. @ Granada Theater, Dallas, TX (No Brendan Benson)
Nov. 26 Fri. @ La Zona Rosa, Austin, TX
Nov. 27 Sat. @ The Argentum, Houston, TX
Dec. 1 Wed. @ Gothic Theatre, Englewood, CO
Dec. 3 Fri. @ Club Nokia @ LA Live, Los Angeles, CA
Dec. 5 Sun. @ The Independent, San Francisco, CA
Dec. 8 Wed. @ Aladdin Theater, Portland, OR
Dec. 11 Sat. @ Showbox at the Market, Seattle, WA

Advertisements

Join the "Hear! Hear!" conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s